Kitui County

Kitui County 1

Kitui County is one of the largest counties in the Republic Kenya and it covers an area of 30,520 square kilometers. The county has a population of 1,012,709 based on 2012 census with a Male : Female ratio of 0.9:1.1. The county is diverse with some areas being semi-arid and mostly dry, while others are fairly arable.

Kitui has two main urban centres; Kitui and Mwingi Towns, Kitui being the capital city of the County. The County is inhabited mainly by the Kamba people, followed by the Tharaka who are found in Tharaka ward but there are also sizable Swahili and Somali population.

Kitui County has Eight Sub-Counties: Kitui Central, Kitui Rural, Kitui South, Kitui East, Kitui West, Mwingi Central, Mwingi West and Mwingi North.

The county, which lies between the altitude of 400m and 1,800m above sea level, and which borders Makueni County to the South West, Machakos & Embu Counties to the West, Meru & Isiolo Counties to the North, Tana River County to the East and Taita Taveta County to the South. Kitui County is endowed with 14 different kinds of minerals but the most prominent are coal estimated at one billion tonnes in Mui Basin and Gypsum in Mwingi area.

The main economic activity is subsistence farming of crops such as maize, beans, pigeon peas, sorghum, millet, cassava etc. Livestock keeping is also popular, especially goats and cattle. Also, it has small-scale industries for honey, gypsum and fruit processing.

Most residents are Christians, with minority Muslim populations in the main urban centers. Most Christian faiths are represented, including Catholics, AIC, ACK, Presbyterian and evangelical churches.

The central part of the county is characterized by hilly ridges separated by wide low lying areas and has slightly lower elevation of between 600m and 900m above sea level. The highest areas in the county are Kitui Central, Mutitu Hills and Yatta plateau.Due to their altitudes, they receive more rainfall than other areas in the county and are the most productive areas. To the eastern side, the main relief feature is the Yatta plateau, which stretches from the north to the south of the county and lies between rivers Athi and Tiva. The plateau is characterized with plain wide shallow spaced valleys.

The county can be divided into four agro-ecological zones. Semi-arid farming zone has good potential for agricultural development and is currently either cultivated or under woodlands. The semi-arid ranching areas are less fertile and are used for drought resistance crops and livestock keeping. The Arid-agro-pastoral areas are generally suitable for grazing. Finally, the arid-pastoral zones are suitable for rearing of livestock.

The climatic condition varies across the county in terms of rainfall and temperature. The rainfall pattern is bi-modal with long rains falling in the months of March to May. These are usually very erratic and unreliable. The short rains which form the second rainy season fall between October and December and are more reliable. The county experiences high temperatures throughout the year, which ranges from 140c to 340c. The hot months are between mid-July and September and January and February.

Contact Us

Office of the Senator (Head Office Nairobi )

Parliament Buildings County Hall, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 49037 - 00100

Telephone No:      (+254)  (20) 2848000
Mobile No's:                (+254)  716701180
                                      (+254) 728087849
                                      (+254) 721325580

County Office

Office of the Senator (Kitui Office)

Kwa Ngindu
P.O. Box 1657 – 90200
Mobile No's: Kitui Office (+254) 722526438
                                      (+254) 722368130 
                                      (+254) 726737642

Sub-County Offices

Office of the Senator (Sub-County Offices)

Mobile No's: Mwingi Office     (+254) 728256429
                     Mutomo Office    (+254) 702094678